The Global Shield Board assumes political and strategic oversight over the Global Shield against Climate Risks and provides overall guidance to the Global Shield.


The Global Shield has two Co-Chair Countries. One Co-Chair represents the views of vulnerable countries, and one Co-Chair those of supporting countries. They chair both the Global Shield Board (ministerial level) and the Global Shield Coordination Hub (technical level) and guide the Global Shield Secretariat.

Hon. Ken Ofori-Atta

Minister of Finance, Republic of Ghana

Hon. Ken Ofori-Atta assumed office as Ghana’s Finance Minister on January 27, 2017. He brings to the Ministry over 30 years of experience in Ghanaian and international financial sector. He was a Co-Founder and former Chairman of the Databank Group (an investment banking firm) in Ghana, where he served as Executive Chairman from 1990 until his retirement on February 14, 2012. Prior to co-founding Databank in 1990, the Hon. Minister was an investment banker at Morgan Stanley and Salomon Brothers on Wall Street in New York. He was also the first African to testify at the US Congress Ways and Means Committee to support the AGOA law. He was twice honoured by PriceWaterHouse Ghana as one of the Top 5 Most Respected CEOs in Ghana. He went to Achimota School in Accra, Ghana, received a BA in Economics from Columbia University in New York, and an MBA from the Yale School of Management.

Dr. Bärbel Kofler

Parliamentary State Secretary to the German Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development

Dr. Bärbel Kofler is Parliamentary State Secretary to the Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development of Germany, Svenja Schulze. She has been a Member of the German Bundestag since 2004, where she served for a time as the Social Democratic Party’s Spokesperson on Development Policy and as a member of the Committee on Foreign Affairs. From March 2016 to December 2021, she was Commissioner for Human Rights Policy and Humanitarian Assistance at the Federal Foreign Office. Dr. Bärbel Kofler holds university degrees in linguistics, Russian and Spanish (Salzburg University) as well as in computer science (Rosenheim Technical University of Applied Sciences).

Board Members

The Global Shield Board consists of the following representatives on ministerial level, chaired by two Co-Chairs:

5 Representatives from Vulnerable Countries

Including representation from Small Island Developing States and Least Developed Countries. Non-V20 members/incoming V20 members are eligible subject to interest in the Global Shield.



The Philippines



5 Representatives from Supporting Countries

Providing financial, in-kind or political support to the Global Shield Board. They are not eligible for Global Shield protection packages.


European Union



United Kingdom

2 Representatives from Civil Society Organisations

Acting as active observers with rotating seats.



3 Representatives from Global Shield Financing Vehicles

Acting as observers.

Global Shield Solutions Platform

Global Shield Financing Facility

CVF & V20 Joint Multi-Donor Fund

You might also be interested in these pages


The governance structure of the Global Shield consists of the Global Shield Board and the Global Shield Coordination Hub.

Read more

Financing Structure

Additional Global Shield financing is provided by a central Financing Structure, consisting of the Global Shield Solutions Platform, the Global Shield Financing Facility, and the Climate Vulnerable Forum & V20 Joint Multi-Donor Fund.

Read more

Coordination Hub

The Coordination Hub provides technical advice and implementation coordination to help deliver on the ambition of the Global Shield.

Read more


The Global Shield against Climate Risk aims to support countries that are most vulnerable to climate risks.

Read more